Pin on Pinterest


U.S. Congressman Sam Johnson (TX-03) recently announced the names of eighty-one students named to the 2014-2015 Congressional Youth Advisory Council (CYAC).  MCA Senior Andrew Boese has been selected to participate in the Youth Advisory Council.  The council members were chosen by a community board that considered students' leadership skills, academic performance, participation in extracurricular activities and community service.  All council members come from the Third District of Texas, which encompasses most of Collin County.

"Now more than ever, it is imperative that our young people not only understand how our democracy works but to get involved so that they can make positive, wise contributions to our country," said Johnson.  "This year's Congressional Youth Advisory Council is an exciting group of smart and engaged high school students.  I consider these young adults to be my ambassadors to Congress, and I look forward to hearing from them on issues that matter the most to them and their peers."

 2014-2015 Congressional Youth Advisory Council

The CYAC was created in 2004 by Congressman Johnson to inspire students to learn more about how the government functions on a local, state and federal lever and in turn, to become better informed and actively engaged citizens.  The CYAC typically meets twice each semester with Johnson and a distinguished guest.